Board Members

Not pictured: Christal Lewiston (’19)

Front Row:  Loween Getter (Editor), Kathy Pingel (AACT), Cheryl Clark, Christal Lewiston, Molly Ketchum, Cheryl Zieringer, Tracy Rhodes, Helen Beneke (Vice President), Donna Smithson (Secretary and Region V rep), Pam Ratliff.
Back Row:  Jason Paull (President), Norman Ussery, Rick Myers (Past President), Mel Wilson, Gerard Schwickerath (Treasurer), John Olson.
Upcoming elections

At the next ICTA annual meeting in Newton during Festival 2019, there will be an election for five spots on the board for the Iowa Community Theater Association. A ballot will be used for voting. Even though nominations may be submitted from the floor, it is nice to have a bio of the candidates ahead of time so that these bios can be placed on the web and the names on the ballots. The board meets four times a year, once at the festival or convention, and the other times on a Saturday at some centralized theater. Members are instrumental in administering the Iowa Awards in Excellence program, reviewing plays, issuing a newsletter, awarding L. K. Boutin grants, providing a website, insuring a convention and a festival in alternate years, and other projects that develop. There is no reimbursement of expenses, but these expenses are eligible for itemized deductions on your income tax. If you are interested in becoming a candidate for the board for a three-year term, immediately contact Helen Beneke at, and she will direct you to the next step.